sprigs & sprogs


September = Schoolstart
September 22, 2011, 23:36
Filed under: Expat, Kids, language, postaweek2011, school

September is nearly over! And we have had the best two weeks of the summer, blue skies and summer heat. Loving it!

My big boy started school this month, can’t believe I have a child going to “proper” school already. It’s a big deal, but I think more of a big deal for me than for him. He loves it, has already made new friends and he’s excited about having homework!

His school is so nice and his books looks like so much fun, I wish I could join him. Would do wonders for my Portuguese . I have got myself a little Portuguese grammar book, just for me. Decided I wanted to show everybody that you can teach old dogs to sit!

One thing I struggle understanding, is why do the children in Primary go longer days than the children in secondary school ? Is it so it can work as an childcare option at the same time. As the Secondary students would be able to look after themselves? Back in Sweden the children finish around lunch time. But saying that, my son just loves school, and even on the later pick-ups, he asks me if he can not stay just a tiny weeny little bit longer.

I have been so worried about my son’s school start, not for his sake though, as he is a very sociable little guy, but for my sake, am I going to be able to help him, am I going to be able to get a good contact with his teacher… One thing I have learnt this month is, relax, it is never going to be as difficult as you make it out to be. So far so good!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

