sprigs & sprogs


I want to be fluent too…
May 19, 2011, 20:53
Filed under: Expat, Kids, language, postaweek2011, school

This weekend I overheard my two-year old having a proper conversation with an older friend in Portuguese. I was so impressed! I knew that he knows a lot of words and he always respond in the correct way when spoken to in Portuguese. But this was something else…

I am so proud. But now I need my kids to be proud of me too. I understand more and more, reading Portuguese is getting easier by the day, with help of kids books like Ruca and Elle Magazine! My next step would be to read an adult fiction book.

I mentioned in an earlier blog that my eldest son is starting school in September and that I am very nervous about my ability to help him with his school work. This weekend we went for an open day at the school. After about 20 minutes, my son was happily joining the children in all the activities.

While I did not understand everything that was said, especially not the jokes, i felt at ease. So now I do feel a bit more relaxed about this big change in our lives. I can also see the potential in learning along side my son. If only I could sit in on the afternoon lessons…

My big issue is to not dare to speak, beyond the phrases I now feel familiar with. I also get so overwhelmed when there are lots of people talking… I can give you an example; Friday night I went to a school meeting (Yip, Friday night at 9:00pm). All the parents are setting up a little show for the summer party at the nursery. I followed the conversation quite well…but then suddenly everyone started to talk at the same time. That’s when my brain switches off. Then that’s it, I’m lost! Luckily my son’s teacher is great and helps me as much as she can.

I need to speak more…or else I will not get any braver… And that would be a shame as my boys are such masters at Portuguese.

So my next challenge is to read an ADULT FICTION BOOK in Portuguese. Will keep you posted on the progress.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Små steg i rätt riktning! Du kan klara det! Kram

Comment by Jenni




Leave a Reply

