sprigs & sprogs


Can a “crab-walker” be a good running partner?
February 6, 2011, 20:58
Filed under: dog, Fitness, postaweek2011, running

This week we have added a new member to our family, a 6 month old puppy…she is quite a charmer, as she ended up coming home with us after visiting a dog shelter.

My initial thought was it’s great she can come with me on my runs and we will do lots of walking etc. Which is all good theories.

First day we tried to put a collar and lead on her, she had a fit (she has never worn anything like it before).  So we had to take it slow. As she has never been out for walks before, she will stop E-V-E-R-Y-W-H-E-R-E to have a sniff… So the exercise aspect of these dog walks has not happened yet.

This morning, we thought she might as well come with me for my morning jog, instead of us taking her separately for a walk.  So off we went, she was very keen.  For the first ten minutes at least she was running like a crab in front of me darting from the one end to the other… I nearly fell head over heals a good few times, so much for pushing myself.  Kept stopping so I wouldn’t fall… Hmmm, was getting in a bit of a bad mood. Which was a real shame as it was such a beautiful morning.

Another thing, pre-dog, I have always been a bit anxious about all the dogs on-route (there are some BIG loud ones…), so in company of a dog, i couldn’t just sneak past, they sniffed us miles away! And Dora loves them all, she misses her friends at the shelter I think…

I will try to run with her again, but in some ways it’s like taking one of my kids with me, and that to me defeats my mission, my running session is for me to wind down and have some time with myself. Might compromise and do every other time with and the other without.

Found this link about running with dogs: http://www.squidoo.com/runningdog

Think this is where we have some work to do;

Dog Leash Training and Running

Does he heel?

Your running experience will be so much better if your dog is not yanking your arm out of your socket every time she sees a squirrel or smells something fascinating.

Before running, your dog should be good about walking on a lead (and not tugging or walking away). Also, you may want to invest the time to train your dog to heel so he or she is running with you and not “running you”.

 

I can now see why my husband gets so annoyed when I “crab-walk”. 😉

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Ge henne lite tid. Angus älskar att jogga med mig eller när Ola cyklar med honom han går in i jogmode då… så bara jobba på. Dt kommer att lyckas. Och ni får en härlig stund tillsammans. Kram kram

Comment by metallmamma




Leave a Reply

