sprigs & sprogs


Mission Impossible?
November 23, 2010, 21:04
Filed under: Expat, Kids, language

I arrived here at the Silver coast in Portugal just over three years ago. In my mind I would be fluent after three years for sure. I was a bit ignorant to how hard Portuguese is and how it varies from area to area… I though because I was fluent in two languages, plus basic knowledge in a further two this would be a walk in the park.  Never underestimate a language, that’s my big lesson after three years.

A sea of balls.

Don’t get me wrong, I do understand a lot and I can read the paper and magazine. Maybe not to the point where I understand every single detail, but I’m getting the story.

But ask me to ask a person for something and I clam up and all the words that appear in my head are Swedish or English. Of late I have become a bit more adventures. Decided to put a bit more effort in.

My son who is five years old is fluent, it sounds fabulous to me. Many of our Portuguese friends tells me he speaks very well, which is very handy as although his young age, he has already had to step in and translate!

My little baby is also growing up, nearly two and already has a Portuguese vocabulary. I’m trying to keep up, don’t want to wake up one day and realize that my kids are fluent in a language I don’t understand…

So that’s my mission, to become fluent in Portuguese, well at least semi-fluent.

Watch this space…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

