sprigs & sprogs


Common Cold or just an uncommonly drawn out one?
October 12, 2010, 22:26
Filed under: Health, Kids, Nutrition, Uncategorized

Get your daily intake of vitamins from organic fruit and vegetables.

Today has been a beautiful day with blue skies and sunshine… Guess what I got up to? Went to the doctor for an appointment, which had been reschedule without anyone bothering to inform me. Then I ended up on the sofa with the worst headache I have had in years. This headache business was with all certainty, apart of my “common cold”, which I have now decided is a “not-so-common-cold”.  I have been dragging this cold along with me now for weeks, and instead of getting better it seems to be getting worse.

So yesterday I got this advice from a friend of a friend; Chop up an onion and leave it on a plate on your bedside table over night. apparently it is supposed to help unblock your nose.  You can imagine my disappointment when I woke up and couldn’t breathe through my nose. But as the day went on, I was suddenly able to actually blow my nose. If this was the onion or pure coincidence no one will know. But it’s worth a try! I have opted for a big cup of hot water with lemon and honey tonight.

So what are the best tricks in the book to get rid of a common cold?

1. Make sure you catch up on sleep and get enough rest. Have you ever as a parent noticed how you get a cold as soon as you have had a couple of late nights with your little ones? Your immune system goes down with not enough rest, and you are more vulnerable  to viruses.

2. Drink lots of water,  you get dehydrated from having a cold. Water is the best body cleanser, keep in mind that the adult body is 50-60% water. It is used in most functions of the body, without it we would not survive. So drink a little bit extra when unwell.

3. Eat lots of fruit and vegetables, not only are they full of vitamins and nutrients, but they have a high content of water. Which can both help you fight your cold.

4. De-stress, stress is as bad for your immune system as sleep deprivation. Keep calm and relaxed. If you don’t have a relaxing hobby. Learn a simple meditation routine to help you relax.

These are no miracle advice, just common sense. When I find a miracle cure I will be sure to let you know!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

