sprigs & sprogs


Sugar Cravings
May 26, 2010, 22:45
Filed under: Fitness, Health, Nutrition

Why is it so easy to know everything theoretically, but when it comes down to actually doing it, it is so much more challenging.

As I mentioned in an earlier blogg, my goal is to practice what I preach, optimum nutrition. At the moment it is proving very very difficult. Since my last pregnancy, a year ago, I am stuck with a sugar craving.

On a good note, this month I have finally managed to get back into a fitness regime, and averaging about 3 workouts a week.

But back to the sugar cravings, how do I get rid of it? I don’t want to go cold turkey as I want to be able to enjoy a coca-cola or a bar of chocolate occasionally. Is that impossible?

All regimes seem so strict and hard to follow. But I have decided from tomorrow, no more sugar on my weetbix, only fresh fruit… That is at least a start in the right direction.

Here are some good advices I have been given that I would like to share with you;

Exercise: When you move and increase your oxygen consumption, then you will naturally raise your serotonin levels.

Water: You might just be thirsty, so drink a large glass of water and keep yourself busy. Your craving might be forgotten about.

Protein: Eat protein at each of your three main meals, and you will stay fuller for longer and not crave anything extra including sugar.

No Caffeine: Drinking caffeinated drinks will lower your serotonin levels over a period of time, so you will start craving more sugar.

Xylitol: This is the only sugar substitute that you should even consider.

Stop Stressing: Stress raises your cortisol levels, which in turn lowers serotonin, and that will make you crave sugar.

I will continue my search for the best tools and advice to get back on track. I will keep you up to date with my progress. Watch this space.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

