sprigs & sprogs


Runner’s High – A healthy addiction.
November 15, 2010, 21:40
Filed under: Fitness, Health

On a high.

 

I have now been back two weeks on a fitness schedule, a mix of body pump and running, and I feel great!

It amazes me how quickly you forget how good it feels to exercise.

My body is not looking any different, but boy do I feel different! I just love that feeling, when you get your groove back. You become more positive, happy and over all a sunnier person to be around. I know, my husband has commented on this! ;-)

What I love about this is that it happens just after a couple of sessions, it’s like an addiction, a legal and health one. (Although in some cases, too much of a good thing can turn bad too.)

It’s got to be good if it gets me out of bed at 7.30 on a Saturday!

What really is happening is that exercise triggers the release of “feel good” hormones, like endorphins. All you have to do is 20 minutes and they will kick into action, this will make you feel better and better after every workout session.

What are Endorphins?

Exercise decreases the stress hormones such as cortisol and increases endorphins.  Endorphins are the body’s natural feel good chemicals, and when they are released through exercise, your mood is boosted naturally.  As well as endorphins, exercise also releases adrenaline, serotonin, and dopamine.  These chemicals work together to make you feel good.

Endorphins are defined as hormone-like substances that are produced in the brain and function as the body’s natural painkillers.  During exercise, these endorphins are released, and this can produce feelings of euphoria and a general state of wellbeing.  The endorphins produced can be so powerful that they actually mask pain.  Physically active people recover from mild depression more quickly and physical activity is strongly correlated with good mental health as people age.

http://www.naturaltherapypages.com.au/article/Exercise_Endorphins

My bag is already packed for my next session, no more excuses; I am really looking forward to it…

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I do also agree with you on this one. Exercise make me also feel happier and make me feel strong. Strange how this is :)

Comment by blackhuff

It’s good for body and soul! Only wish I realized that a bit earlier in my life. but as they say it’s never too late. :-)

Comment by emmavp




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

